TAMPA -- Tampa Bay's Arena Football League team is suspending operations, effective immediately.

According to the team, rising league costs and reduced revenue forced their hand.

"We have informed League Commissioner Scott Butera, and the remaining members of the Arena Football League, that we will not operate a franchise in 2018," said Steve Griggs, Chief Executive Officer of Tampa Bay Sports and Entertainment. "This was not an easy decision, but after deep consideration, evaluation and introspection, we have elected to reallocate the resources dedicated to arena football for other uses within our organization, including the growth of Tampa Bay Entertainment Properties.”

After entering the league 1991, the Storm won the ArenaBowl five times.

The team isn't ruling out coming back into the league, saying the'll "explore future opportunities in a stronger, reinvented Arena Football League at the appropriate time."

Former Bucs star Derrick Brooks was the team's president.

Make it easy to keep up-to-date with more stories like this. Download the 10News app now.

Have a news tip? Email desk@wtsp.com, or visit our Facebook page or Twitter feed.