Tampa Bay Rays pitcher Jeremy Hellickson wins Gold Glove

5:43 AM, Oct 31, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +



The Rays' Jeremy Hellickson won the American League Gold Glove, along with White Sox' pitcher Jake Peavy.

Hellickson becomes the 5th time a Ray has won a Gold Glove.  Carlos Pena won in 2008.  Evan Longoria won in 2009 and 2010.  Carl Crawford won in 2010.

Hellickson won the Rookie of the Year award last year.  And becomes the second pitcher to win the Rookie and Gold Glove awards, after Fernando Valenzuela.

At 25, Hellickson is also the youngest pitcher won win a Gold Glove, since the Royals' Bret Saberhagen in 1979. 

Left-fielder Desmond Jennings was a finalist, but lost to the Royals' Alex Gordon.


10 News

Most Watched Videos