LIVE VIDEO: Live Newscast    Watch

Mayor Bob Buckhorn signs new Sister City agreement with Porto Alegre, Brazil

11:41 AM, Oct 25, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +



Tampa, Florida -- The City of Tampa now has added a ninth Sister City -- this one in Brazil.

On Thursday, Mayor Bob Buckhorn and Porto Alegre Mayor Fortunati signed the new Sister City agreement between the cities of Tampa and Porto Alegre.

Porto Alegre is the state capital and largest city of Rio Grande do Sul, the southernmost state in Brazil. You may hear the city's name again soon as it will be one of the host cities of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Tampa's eight other Sister Cities are: Barranquilla, Colombia; LeHavre, France; Oviedo, Spain; Vera Cruz, Mexico; Boca del Rio, Mexico; Izmir, Turkey; Agrigento, Italy; and Ashdod, Israel.

Mayor Buckhorn is in Brazil this week on a trade and business development mission.

PHOTOS: Mayor Buckhorn visits Porto Alegre, Brazil

His first stop on his tour of the country was to Sao Paulo, Brazil with officials from Tampa Hillsborough EDC, Visit Tampa Bay, Tampa International Airport, and the Tampa Port Authority as well as several area businesses.

Mayor Buckhorn met with Consul General Dennis Hankins, Mayor of Sao Paolo Fernando Haddad, representatives from Mosaic in Brazil, as well as the Sao Paolo Chamber of Commerce.

The group then traveled to Porto Alegre on Wednesday, Oct. 23 to meet with representatives of Pontifical Catholic University of Rio Grande do Sul, Gerdau, as well as Porto Alegre Mayor Fortunati.

Most Watched Videos