Winston joins ranks of Bucs captains

The ranks of Tampa Bay Buccaneers captains is a repeat from last season -- with one new addition.

Second-year quarterback Jameis Winston was one of five players voted by his teammates to be a team captain, the team announced Monday.

The other four players were captains last year: linebackers Lavonte David and defensive tackle Gerald McCoy will be defensive captains, wide receiver Vincent Jackson will be offensive captain with Winston, and wide receiver Russell Shepard will repeat as special teams captain.

Each week the team will have a sixth captain; for the season opener against the Atlanta Falcons the captain will be former Falcon Joe Hawley.

(© 2016 WTSP)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment