Cooperstown, NY (Sports Network) - For the first time since 1996, theBaseball Writers' Association of America will not be electing anyone to theHall of Fame.

Eligible candidates needed to be named on 75 percent of the 569 ballotssubmitted by members of the BBWAA, meaning 427 votes were necessary forelection. Houston Astros second baseman Craig Biggio came closest by nabbing68 percent of the vote, falling just 39 votes short of election.

Of course this ballot will long be remembered as the one that first featuredall-time home run king and seven-time MVP Barry Bonds, as well as seven-timeCy Young Award winning right-hander Roger Clemens.

While there is no argument that Bonds and Clemens were two of the best to everplay the game, their careers have been tarnished for their alleged use ofperformance enhancing drugs.

Bonds, who set the all-time mark in home runs with 762 over 22 seasons andalso set the single-season mark for homers with 73 in 2001, was named on 206ballots (36.2 %), while Clemens, a 354-game winner over the course of his 24-year career, received 37 percent of the vote.

So with nobody new being elected, the Class of 2013 will feature umpire HankO'Day, former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th Century star Deacon White,all of whom were elected by the Pre-Integration Era Committee in December, aswell as Ford C. Frick Award winner Tom Cheek and Spink Award winner PaulHagen.

Enshrinement will take place on July 28.

Read or Share this story: