Current law requires a minor who is 16 or 17 years old to get parental consent before marrying.
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) — Florida may make it illegal for anyone under the age of 16 to get married.
A bill is advancing through the Florida Legislature that prohibits minors 15 or younger from being able to get permission to marry. If approved Florida would join 13 other states that totally ban marriage for someone under 16.
Current law requires a minor who is 16 or 17 years old to get parental consent before marrying. But minors younger than that get married if they have a child or if the bride is pregnant.
Last year there were 9 marriages that included a minor under 16.
The House Healthy Families subcommittee voted in favor of the bill (HB 1279) Tuesday. It has one more stop before making it to the full House.
Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.