TALLAHASSEE, Florida -- There are important guidelines to follow when dealing with child safety in a car and emergency officials say three years old was just too young for kids to transition to seat belts.
By now you know it's important for kids to be in child safety seats, but what you may not know is in Florida they were only required to ride in one up to age three. A new law Governor Rick Scott signed raises that age to four and five.
That's good news for Amy Mckee. She kept her kids in safety seats even older than that.
"I think it's great to keep the kids in the seats," McKee said. "Even though the booster seat's maybe not as comfortable as a regular car seat. Yes, I feel that it's much safer."
A new law Governor Scott signed moves child safety seat age to four and five. WTSP
Leon County EMS holds demonstrations on proper use of child safety seats and gives them away for free.
"We have nearly maybe one in five children that are riding around and not put in their car seat correctly," said Leon County EMS Captain Sally Davis.
Here are some important recommendations from safercar.gov:
- Kids between ages 1 and 3 should be in rear-facing car seats.
- From 2-7 years old they should be in forward facing seats.
- Between around 4-12 should sit in booster seats, and
- Graduate to seat belts around the ages of 8-13.
It's important for parents, guardians and friends to not just know the new rules, but also the best option for safety.
"Know the car seat, read the manual. Know which each seat's height and weight levels are," Davis said.
"And, I keep them always in the back seat until they are teenagers," McKee added.
Even though the law stops at five years old, emergency officials say kids aren't ready for seat belts until they are 4 feet 9 inches which is around the ages of 8 to 12.