RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) - Lionel Messi has received the award for best player of the World Cup, minutes after his Argentina team lost the final 1-0 to Germany.

Messi was selected ahead of Thomas Mueller of Germany and Netherlands forward Arjen Robben by FIFA's technical study group of coaching analysts.

Show Thumbnails
Show Captions

Germany's Manuel Neuer collected the best goalkeeper prize.

James Rodriguez of Colombia got the golden boot award as top scorer with six goals. Mueller was second, with five goals.

The best young player award went to Paul Pogba of France.

Similar stories you may find interesting:

Goetze's full talent on show in winning goal

Goetze scores late to give Germany the World Cup

Fan on pitch stops play at World Cup final

World Cup final goes to extra time

Germans cautious at halftime in World Cup final

Read or Share this story: http://on.wtsp.com/1m8jJFh