President Obama declares Florida 'major disaster'

WASHINGTON, D.C.-- President Obama has requested federal aid for local, state, and tribal recovery efforts in Florida following Hurricane Matthew. This following the declaration of a 'major disaster.'

The following counties will be able to request federal funding: Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Nassau, St. Johns, St. Lucie, and Volusia. Funding will also be available for state and local governments, along with particular nonprofit groups.

FEMA continues to survey damages in the state and more assistance may be requested if needed.




© 2018 WTSP-TV


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment