MIAMI, Fla. -- Three coaches who died during the Feb. 14 school shooting in Parkland will be recognized during the ESPY Awards on July 18.

Coaches Aaron Feis, Scott Beigel and Chris Hixon will be awarded the Best Coach Award posthumously, ESPN announced Wednesday. The coaches' family members will be at the ceremony to received the awards.

Related: Widow of Parkland school shooting victim visits Polk County training program

It's a break in tradition for the ESPYs. The Best Coach Award typically recognizes coaches strictly for their work on the field.

Feis, Beigel and Hixon will be honored for "their immeasurable bravery in the face of danger and for their ultimate sacrifice to protect the lives of countless students," Alice Overholt, vice president and editor-in-chief of ESPN The Magazine, said in a release.

â–ºMake it easy to keep up-to-date with more stories like this. Download the 10News app now.

Have a news tip? Email, or visit our Facebook page or Twitter feed.