Breaking News
More () »

Florida toll roads now accept E-ZPass statewide

FDOT is also launching a 'pro' version of SunPass that will be accepted in 18 states.

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. — Some good news for both out-of-state and Florida drivers. 

The Florida Department of Transportation announced Friday that Florida's Turnpike Enterprise (FTE) is now accepting E-ZPass® across all of Florida's toll roads.

E-ZPass is used in 19 states across the eastern U.S.

“Florida continues to leverage technology and deploy innovative solutions that improve safety and reduce congestion across the state’s transportation system,” said Florida Department of Transportation Secretary Kevin J. Thibault, P.E. in a statement. “Florida’s partnership with E-ZPass is the next critical step toward national interoperability creating seamless transportation options for Florida residents and visitors alike.”

E-ZPass users from out of state can now use their transponders across all of Florida's nearly 900 miles of toll roads.

“The 35-member toll agencies in the 19 state E-ZPass region congratulate the Florida Department of Transportation and Florida’s Turnpike Enterprise on this significant step toward national interoperability in toll collection,” said PJ Wilkins, executive director of the E-ZPass Group in a statement. “Our customers have long sought a solution where they can utilize a single toll account for their travels up and down the coast. Today’s announcement fulfills a commitment to each of our customers and provides a  seamless travel experience. Our congratulations to FDOT and FTE on making this a reality.”

And there's good news for Florida drivers, too. FDOT says drivers who buy the new SunPass PRO will have access to toll roads in 18 states. FDOT says the pro version of SunPass also offers parking at most international airports in Florida and Hard Rock Stadium in Miami and says more locations will be added. 

The pro version costs $14.95.

SunPass PRO is accepted in the following states: Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Maryland, Rhode Island, Indiana, Delaware, Illinois, New Jersey, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Kentucky, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Maine, West Virginia, New York and Ohio. 

Existing SunPass portable and mini transponders will continue to be accepted in Florida, Georgia and North Carolina, according to FDOT.

"SunPass customers wanting seamless travel within the E-ZPass network will need to upgrade to the SunPass PRO™," FDOT said in a release. 

For more information on the changes, click here.

RELATED: Selmon Extension opens to traffic after years of construction

RELATED: Controversial plan to expand toll roads hits dead end over environmental, cost concerns

What other people are reading right now:

►Breaking news and weather alerts: Get the free 10 Tampa Bay app

Stay In the Know! Sign up now for the Brightside Blend Newsletter