Breaking News
More () »

6 Tampa Bay area counties declare local states of emergency ahead of Hurricane Dorian

The local states of emergency will let county leaders do what they feel is safe for their communities.

PASCO COUNTY, Fla — Six greater Tampa Bay area counties have declared local states of emergency ahead of Hurricane Dorian's anticipated landfall on Florida's east coast.

Highlands, Hillsborough, Hernando, Pasco, Manatee and Hardee counties have declared emergencies.

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis has already issued a state-level emergency declaration for counties that may be in the storm's path.

RELATED: State of emergency declared for all 67 Florida counties ahead of Hurricane Dorian

The new local declarations allow the county administrators and emergency management directors to waive everyday procedures and do what they feel is necessary to ensure the health, safety and welfare of the community.  

LIVE BLOG: The latest, need-to-know information on Hurricane Dorian

This includes: ordering evacuations, performing public work, making emergency purchases, renting equipment, hiring workers and using volunteers.

►Track the weather and get severe alerts when they happen: Download the 10 News app now.

►Stay informed with all tropical weather: Check out our must-have interactive Hurricane Headquarters guide here.

The local state of emergency will be in effect for seven days or until rescinded by the county administrator.

What other people are reading right now:

Make it easy to keep up-to-date with more stories like this. Download the 10News app now.

Have a news tip? Email desk@wtsp.com, or visit our Facebook page or Twitter feed.